Kobieca depresja

Women readily experience and communicate their own feelings and if depressed they’re more aware of this and more often find treatment. Because of this, it has been widely believed that women are more vulnerable to depression, perhaps by a factor of as much as 4:1. Men, by contrast, conceal their depression in two manners: by covering it up with dependence alcohol, sex, drugs, work, insecure behaviour and from erecting partitions to hold in their emotions behind a stiff countenance. It has led several observers like Terrence Real (I Don’t Want to discuss It) to assert that male depression is greatly underestimated and that the real rate could be equivalent to or greater than the speed of depression in girls. There are good reasons for men to maintain their melancholy hidden. Men have been socialized with boyhood to be hard and hold in their feelings (real men don’t cry). http://www.psychoterapia-romaniuk.com In adulthood, they hold significant positions as breadwinners, relatives, along with civic leaders, positions that don’t permit any indication of weakness. Therefore, the social pressure for guys to keep their depression under wraps is powerful. Like most men, my melancholy was concealed. But unlike a number of other guys, I did not turn to the more damaging and overtly addictive behaviours gender, alcohol, medications to cover up my hurts. My addiction has been socially acceptable workaholism. Work and the emotional walls I created protected me and held in the pain and explosive anger about everything felt like a wasted life. Finally, my job turned sour, dealing a blow to my ego attachment to it. My occupation enabled me to feel important due to the feelings of power and achievement that it gave me. With those stripped away, my protective cap was gone and nothing has been left to protect me. At that stage, it took only the flimsiest rebuff from my wife for things to fall apart.

In the time of my crash, I thought I had been ordinary, but in fact the damage from five years of living without credibility was deeper than I understood. In addition to major depression, I faced serious dissociative disorders, usually experienced as going away or fogging out. Child abuse certainly verbal and possibly sexual as well and continued verbal abuse in 30 years of union caused Post-Traumatic Anxiety Disorder (PTSD). PTSD left me exposed to replaying old traumas triggered by seemingly unimportant events and viscerally afraid of being close to women. I also developed a schizoid personality split which made me equally narcissistically self indulgent and self-hateful at the exact same moment. Can I sought cure for depression earlier, I may have avoided these more serious mental issues. A variety of treatments are available to cure depression, such as individual counselling, psychodrama, body work and an increasingly effective collection of drugs. Since my implosion eight years back, I’ve been in twice-weekly therapy and taking drugs. My treatment has included individual sessions and a psychodrama class, also special PTSD therapy from the Therapy Spiral Institute. This treatment plus extensive reading of psychology, self-help and spiritual literature has led to a lot of insights, psychological growth and a slow unfolding of my capacity to handle my problem. Now largely depression-free, I am able to focus my work on different regions of personality growth and healing. My recommendations on additional guys are these: Should you have an addiction to alcohol, drugs, sex, function, or anything else it is likely covering up melancholy. If you are feeling lifeless, with walls tightly holding your feelings down and shielding you from harm, this too is likely hiding melancholy. Seek a test now from a qualified mental health professional (psychiatrist, psychologist, or social worker) to discover your depression and avoid even more severe mental problems that may develop if it is neglected. Finally, the goal of treatment is to fortify the connection between our hearts and heads, a relationship that’s all too commonly disrupted in men. Furthermore, the travel of recovery may cause a higher level of consciousness where holism replaces individual self-absorption, in addition to a richer spiritual life, however you choose to define that. The Mankind Project has been a huge help to me in coming to grips with my true feelings, providing me a purpose based on committing, reconnecting my body and head and establishing real human relationships, particularly with guys, whom I once feared and resisted. Since it’s for me, MKP can help other guys with depression begin to live authentically and face up to the truth of their lives from which they’ve been concealing.
Depression struck me with tragic suddenness. Transfer your things! Demanded my spouse. She pointed in the journals, newspapers, and books piled high with the chair in which I worked once we watched TV together. Angry and profoundly hurt by her rejection of my feeble attempt at togetherness, I gathered up my things and slunk off to my basement office. Beginning that afternoon my 52nd birthday I snapped quickly into profound feelings of anguish and loss. Five days after, preyed upon by unknown and frightening pictures of damaging myself, I checked into a mental hospital. Suddenly I entered a new world of meds, therapy, strange emotions about myself and also a panic of those abnormal people around me that seemed certainly different from the standard person I believed I was. Stress is a serious ailment that goes much beyond the normal and temporary ups and downs of daily life. Depression involves an abnormally deep and protracted absence of interest in matters that are normally pleasurable, along with physical changes like disrupted sleep patterns. It may differ greatly in appearance from 1 individual to another, however three broad groups are known: major depression, an intense depression lasting at least 2 weeks and in danger of recurrence over a life; dysthymia, lower grade melancholy lasting over a much longer time period; and bipolar disorder, which consists of alternating periods of depression and manic feelings. Depression involves a fundamental deficiency of self-worth that, at its worst, amounts to self-hate or such deep despair that self-harm and suicide may seem as plausible solutions to a person’s problems. While no single accepted theory explains depression, it’s usually thought to involve a series of variables: suppressed anger turned inward toward the self, negative cognitive behaviors (stinking thinking), hereditary predispositions and abnormal brain chemistry. Now, eight years after my accident, I understand that my depression didn’t unfold in a single week, since I first believed, but was rooted in childhood wounds. It started, in reality, together with my conception regarding D-Day when my dad, a police officer, was on leave between convoys in the Atlantic. My mom carried me in dread and stress before the afternoon of my arrival, when she went into a very long labor. I was eventually extracted with forceps that bruised and bent my skull. Fourteen days later, she left me to get a month and a half while she accompanied my father to the Pacific, where he would serve aboard a troop ship in the very last months of this War. These and after traumas of infancy looked life threatening at that age and I needed to protect myself by dissociating going away mentally and erecting emotional walls, skills that maintained later life by hurting me no matter what occurred.
As a youngster, my usage of these defenses wasn’t clear for me or others. My distrust of people seemed like simple shyness. My fear of life seemed like the rigidity and staidness of the overly controlled Union’s son. From marriage on, life seemed normal to me, with its customary share of happy times and disappointments. Occasional, mild depression broke through, but I did not realize it for what it was, and just once for the purpose of saving my marriage did I enter a brief period of counseling. But my inherent insecurities grew over three decades of marriage, until I’d lost interest in my partner, sex, and home life. Only my career lasted me, and I spent my whole heart in it.

